Castle Wijnandsrade

Last week was pretty tough to get out and about.  It basically rained during the day and stopped only at night.  The one time I did get out, I got drenched.  The weather reminds me a lot of where I grew up, Portland, OR.  The gear that I own basically for bicycling is targeted for living in the Oberpfalz of Bavaria where I lived for the last six years, with its three weather options: bitter cold, bitter cold and wet, and warm.  Warm for me in Bavaria was 45-50 F weather that feels hot because of acclimation to the bitter cold.

I have been working and ordering new gear that is lighter weight and water resistant, so I can get out and about.  I have greatly appreciated the recommendations from  “All Seasons Cyclist” in targeting my gear search.  When the gear arrives via APO (US Army Post Office), life in the drizzling rain on bicycle I think will get better.

The rain did break on Sunday, so I was able to get out and about.  Early Sunday when I was out riding/exploring I found a cute town called Wijnandsrade,   Google Translate gives me the idea that it means wine country.  On the south end of town is a castle Kasteel Wijnandsrade.  The castle is pretty cool.  On the grounds is a cafe Chateau Gilbert.  I was out too early in the morning to check out the cafe.

On Wednesday, I rode back to Kasteel Wijnandsrade and Chateau Gilbert for more recon.  The castle grounds are gorgeous with a castle, moat, several gate house, bronze statues, and ducks.  It is quite a find.  I have a feeling it will be a nice afternoon destination for Crystal and I to pedal to.

The castle appears to be a family agricultural products business selling locally produced wines, jams, and spices.  The cafe appears to use the local products in the menu and it has outdoor seating.  There was an older lady working the cafe/store.  She didn’t speak a drop of English.  (Note to self:  I have got to learn Dutch).  So I wasn’t able to communicate well. She resorted to speaking French to me.  Not sure why, but I smiled and ordered a coffee from her.  When it came, the coffee was great! more than espresso by volume but less than a cafe americano.  In previous travels to France from past experience I would call it a cafe creme.  Yum!   

For me this place is great.  It is a triple: bicycle destination, indoor/outdoor cafe with great coffee and on a castle grounds.

On Sunday I had both my GoPros on my Bike so I was able to get some good footage of the the castle and on Wednesday I brought my Canon EOS 60D to take pictures.

This is the video I cobbled together.  It is a little choppy because of the cobblestones (stabilization did a little of mitigation through iMovie:

Tags: ,

About baileyaj

American living overseas in the Netherlands.

Leave a Reply

Off The Beaten Path

Inside news from Bicycle Quarterly and Compass Bicycles

Morning Story and Dilbert

Inspiring, Encouraging, Healthy / Why waste the best stories of the World, pour a cup of your favorite beverage and let your worries drift away…

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

applesandsawdust.wordpress.com/

Nutritious Kitchen Adventures & Creative Home Improvements

Dysania.

we are both probably experiencing it right now.

golefty

Mile by mile...

NYMBlog

A little blog for NYMB.co (Bike Bag Shop)

BikeBelles

Life on two wheels

