Out of Coffee Beans

Image

Three Choices and My Coffee Maker

Today I ran out of coffee beans for my automatic coffee maker.  While living in Germany, I knew where to get good quality coffee beans.  In the Netherlands I haven’t a clue.  Our local DECA (Commissary) only has ground coffee, so I don’t even have Starbucks off the DECA shelves until I can figure out the places to by good espresso beans.

Actually one of my great motivators to bicycling is finding cafe’s, coffee shops, local coffee bean sources…..

So, I pedaled over to the local grocery store C1000.  Not surprisingly it decided to start raining on my ride over.

I am not sure what a C1000 it would be equivalent to in the States.  In Germany it is like an Edeka.  In essence it is a basic grocery with fresh produce, bakery, in store butcher and simple food goods.  They also have some coffee.

The coffee shelf in the store is dominated by pod and instant coffee (blech on both).  There is a limited coffee bean selection.

The choices are limited to the C1000 brand and the brand Douwe Egberts.  Douwe Egberts is a Dutch brand, I see their advertisements on local Dutch TV and I would equate them to like the German brand Jacobs.   Most of the coffee shops I have visited are serving their coffee in the Netherlands.

Douwe Egberts offered three types of beans, Rosso, Dark and Extra Dark.   The packaging did not say the mix of Arabica to Robusto just some grading on the roast (pictured on the right on the bottom of each package) and some adjectives to describe the the taste.  Not reading dutch I not really sure  what to buy, so I bought all three different kinds.

Tomorrow I am going to try the red package “Aroma Rosso”  described in Dutch as “Evenwichtig & Rond”, Google translate says that means “Even and Round” more likely I would guess it means balanced and smooth.

I guess my new goal in my rides is to find a good local source for coffee beans.

Tags: , ,

About baileyaj

American living overseas in the Netherlands.

2 responses to “Out of Coffee Beans”

  1. lost on the internet says :

    Try to find a specialty store for coffee. You need get really lucky to find great whole beans in a supermarket. Try Sittard or one of the larger towns?

    • baileyaj says :

      I will. Still new to the area, it takes time to learn the area. I think themarket in Sittard will be a good place to explore. If not within in biking distance is both Maastricht and Heerlen.

      I will find a local source for good beans. Hopefully sooner than later.

Leave a Reply

Off The Beaten Path

Inside news from Bicycle Quarterly and Compass Bicycles

Morning Story and Dilbert

Inspiring, Encouraging, Healthy / Why waste the best stories of the World, pour a cup of your favorite beverage and let your worries drift away…

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

applesandsawdust.wordpress.com/

Nutritious Kitchen Adventures & Creative Home Improvements

Dysania.

we are both probably experiencing it right now.

golefty

Mile by mile...

NYMBlog

A little blog for NYMB.co (Bike Bag Shop)

BikeBelles

Life on two wheels

