Day One – Ride to The Netherlands Complete

I finished my first day of my five day ride from our old house in Thansuss to The Netherlands.

My ride was originally planned to be about 85 miles. It ended up being 101 miles. I missed two significant turns. Unfortunately the corrections involved climbing two significant hills. One out of Grafenberg to get on road to Forcheim the other out of Hoechstadt to get back on the road to Mulhausen.

I ran my “map my ride” app on my iPhone but it kicked out on while uploading. I will plot it out and update this post. Here are the basc statistics that I remember from right before the crash.

Trip Distance 101 Miles
Pedaling Time 10 Hours
Travel Time (with breaks) 12 hours

I maintained the pace I had expected 10 miles – 1 hour. I was dragging once I got to the hotel in Schwarzach. Surprisingly the lady at the hotel remembered me from the Maintal Bike tour I conducted with Crystal and several friends last year.

An unintended consequence was that this trip actually and inadvertently became a tour down memory lane. i pedalled past several amusement parks I used to take students to in my Wuerzburg days. I actually bike past several former houses of friends Dave, Hank and a few others, so it was a bit melancholic as I remembered good times and so good.

After I got to the hotel I met up with my longest running friend (1992) Otter and his significant other Jules (she is quite nice). We ate dinner and talked about old times, antics and other bad behavior from our times in the 90’s in Wuerzburg. It was great and sad at the same time. He pointed out that I am riding out on my 20th year in Bavaria. I told him it is not likely that I return.

In the end it was a good day. I was glad to sleep.

I have attached a couple of photos

Take care

Andy

20120728-064729.jpg

Tags: ,

About baileyaj

American living overseas in the Netherlands.

Leave a Reply

Off The Beaten Path

Inside news from Bicycle Quarterly and Compass Bicycles

Morning Story and Dilbert

Inspiring, Encouraging, Healthy / Why waste the best stories of the World, pour a cup of your favorite beverage and let your worries drift away…

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

applesandsawdust.wordpress.com/

Nutritious Kitchen Adventures & Creative Home Improvements

Dysania.

we are both probably experiencing it right now.

golefty

Mile by mile...

NYMBlog

A little blog for NYMB.co (Bike Bag Shop)

BikeBelles

Life on two wheels

