Caught Speeding?

Recently I have had a lot of good commutes on my bike.  I have felt good during the rides and done the 9 +/- miles in under 40 minutes consistently.   Now, I don’t typically consider myself fast as Oma’s (Grandmother in German) on ugly black steel one speed bikes can pass me going up hills.

Today on my ride I noticed an unusual flashing light on a sign post as I neared the school grounds.  It wasn’t a low light like a construction warning light.  It was high on the post.  Just as I passed it I saw out of the corner of my eye that it was flashing an LED frowning face.   It then dawned on me that it was one of those radar signs that flashes a frowning face or a happy face if you are within or outside the speed limit.

It then clicked to me that I was the only thing on the road moving.  A big smile came across my face then a shout out “YES!” hoping that I would wake someone up as I pedaled through housing.

Later in that morning, I was in e-mail with a colleague in the MP (military police) station talking about other issues.  My closing note to him I asked if he could send me a ticket for speeding on a bicycle with the intent of framing it.

We will see if he tickets me.  I think one point on my drivers license for speeding on a bicycle would be just great.

About baileyaj

American living overseas in the Netherlands.

Leave a Reply

Off The Beaten Path

Inside news from Bicycle Quarterly and Compass Bicycles

Morning Story and Dilbert

Inspiring, Encouraging, Healthy / Why waste the best stories of the World, pour a cup of your favorite beverage and let your worries drift away…

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

applesandsawdust.wordpress.com/

Nutritious Kitchen Adventures & Creative Home Improvements

Dysania.

we are both probably experiencing it right now.

golefty

Mile by mile...

NYMBlog

A little blog for NYMB.co (Bike Bag Shop)

BikeBelles

Life on two wheels

