March 2011 Week 1

Last week I was able to bicycle into work  Tuesday through Friday.  It was the first week I had been consistently able to ride into work since the weather had turned bad in October.

I was pleasantly surprised with the diminshed fitness due to weather and work, I only had a net gain of five pounds and lost about four minutes on the one way commute.

I expect to be able to ride in Tuesday through Friday again weather permitting.  It has been cold in the mornings 20-30 F, but I think I have worked out my clothing so I stay warm without getting hot.  With planned layers it works well on the return ride home by taking the first layer off.

On Friday one of my lights on the front of the bike was out.  I keep two running, one to see by and one to be seen.  The one to be seen is an LED/Flashing/Strobing type it was the one that went out.  I did not realize the difference it made on my bike with oncoming traffic and high beams.  I had a real problem with cars noticing me.  I assumed it was just a fail safe as the one I use to see by is bright, apparently the strobing/flashing quality is the difference.

Lights will become a non-issue soon as sun is starting to rise around 0615.  I guess around end of March I will be riding in full day light.

As a side note. .. Bicycling is an intregral part of my fitness and health routine accounting for about  100 minutes four days per week.  I try to wallk with the students during lunch recess (anoth day on the walking program) and run the days I am not biking.  This is entirely contigent upon not having to give up my lunch for some issue in the school.

I ultimately plan on doing some form of fitness activity six days a week.

About baileyaj

American living overseas in the Netherlands.

Leave a Reply

Off The Beaten Path

Inside news from Bicycle Quarterly and Compass Bicycles

Morning Story and Dilbert

Inspiring, Encouraging, Healthy / Why waste the best stories of the World, pour a cup of your favorite beverage and let your worries drift away…

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

applesandsawdust.wordpress.com/

Nutritious Kitchen Adventures & Creative Home Improvements

Dysania.

we are both probably experiencing it right now.

golefty

Mile by mile...

NYMBlog

A little blog for NYMB.co (Bike Bag Shop)

BikeBelles

Life on two wheels

