1st Commute of 2011 by bicycle

07 FEB 2011

Today was the first day of the year that I could really bicycle. The temp at 0530 when I left was about 35F.

My commute one way is about nine miles. At the end of last year (October 2010) I was able to do the ride in about 40 minutes. Today I it in about 45 minutes. My goal by June is to get it down to 35 minutes one way.

I think I finally worked gear and equipment for riding early in the morning when it is cold and dark. The key for me are the gloves. I purchased in November Pearl Izumi Lobster Gloves along with several layers of REI and Pearl Izumi clothes. In fact I was probably too warm.

I also got lighting on my bike right. On the back I have two separate flashing red LED type lights. The front has a bright beam for sight and flashing LED white light. Several people who drive the route said they had no problem seeing me.

As it gets lighter later I will extend my return ride in preparation for a one day ride from my house to Munich. This was a goal I set for myself last year, but on the day I attempted it I had a minor deal breaking accident by falling of my bike wand landing in a fence.

About baileyaj

American living overseas in the Netherlands.

Leave a Reply

Off The Beaten Path

Inside news from Bicycle Quarterly and Compass Bicycles

Morning Story and Dilbert

Inspiring, Encouraging, Healthy / Why waste the best stories of the World, pour a cup of your favorite beverage and let your worries drift away…

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

applesandsawdust.wordpress.com/

Nutritious Kitchen Adventures & Creative Home Improvements

Dysania.

we are both probably experiencing it right now.

golefty

Mile by mile...

NYMBlog

A little blog for NYMB.co (Bike Bag Shop)

BikeBelles

Life on two wheels

